We have detected you are using an outdated browser.

Kindly upgrade your version of Internet Explorer or use another browser like Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.



This year, teams from Ethiopia, Malawi, Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania, Lesotho, Tunisia, Zimbabwe, Nigeria and Uganda will compete against each other for three days of pleadings. All teams will present their arguments for both parties of the dispute regarding a fictitious case and will be judged by distinguished Panellists from renowned institutions and firms such as the World Trade Organization (WTO), the Advisory Centre on WTO Law (ACWL), Van Bael and Bellis, the African Union Commission, Kenyan Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Office of the Attorney General of Kenya, the South African Department of Trade and Industry, and J Miles & Co.

During the different stages of the competition, the participants will develop their trade law knowledge and pleading skills. The best students will be awarded special scholarships, internships, and traineeships, giving them an opportunity to gain legal knowledge at the International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development, the African Union Commission, and the World Trade Institute.

The best teams from the African Regional Round will advance to the Final Oral Round that will be held in Geneva, Switzerland in June 2018. They will compete against the finalists from the other regional rounds, i.e. the All-American, Asia-Pacific, and European regional rounds.

The African Regional Round has received significant financial and technical support from the African Trade Policy Centre of United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA). Other financial sponsors include Van Bael & Bellis, Webber Wentzel, BKP Development, Walker Kontos, Kaplan & Stratton, Prof Albert Mumma & Co Advocates, and the generous contributions of Prof. Gabrielle Marceau, Counsellor, WTO and former WTO Appellate Body member Adv. David Unterhalter.

In order to support the participation of the African teams in the Final Oral Round, the organisers welcome donations. The purpose of the donation should be specified as “Support for the African Teams”.


For more information:

Website: emc2.elsa.org

Email: mootcourts@elsa.org

Telephone: +32 2 646 2626

Strathmore University, Law School: +254 703 034061


Harrison Otieno Mbori

Phone Number: + 254 729 035308

Email: hmbori@strathmore.edu


Emmah Senge

Phone Number: +254 720 212064

Email: esenge@strathmore.edu


About ELSA

The European Law Students’ Association (ELSA) is an international, independent, non-political and non-profit-making organisation, which is run by and for law students and young lawyers. Founded in 1981, ELSA is now the world’s largest independent law students’ association with 50000 members in 43 countries offering career, networking and personal development opportunities.

More information: www.elsa.org