We have detected you are using an outdated browser.

Kindly upgrade your version of Internet Explorer or use another browser like Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Stratizens Decide: Meet the 13th Student Council

The Student Council election period began with the submission of election applications by prospective candidates. The applications were then vetted by the election committee. Meanwhile, classes selected their delegates who would represent them at the polls. The vetted candidates were then given about a three-week campaign period to share their manifestos and convince the Strathmore electorate via online debates. Elections took place via the e-learning platform on the morning of Friday, August 27, with the winners being announced via zoom on the same day.

The various elective positions included: President, Vice President, Secretary-General, Finance Representative, Male Academic Representative, Female Academic Representative, Male Sports Representative, Female Sports Representative, and Public Relations Representative. Jamaldin Ramadhan will serve a second term having been the Finance Representative in the 12th Council. Collins Okoh will lead the new council after coming in top in a field of four candidates.

The full list of candidates elected for the 12th Student Council is as follows:

President  – Collins Okoh (Strathmore Law School)

Vice President – Samuel Mue (School of Humanities and Social Sciences)

Secretary General – Jamaldin Ramadhan (Strathmore University Business School)

Public relations – Clara Owuor (Strathmore Institute of Mathematical Sciences)

Male Academic Representative – Simon Bakibinga (Strathmore Institute of Mathematical Sciences)

Female Academic Representative – Maria Gitau (School of Computing and Engineering Sciences)

Finance Representative  – Kingsley Daniel (School of Computing and Engineering Sciences)

Male Sports Representative – Philip Gathuri (Strathmore University Business School)

Female Sports Representative – Sandra Anya (Strathmore Law School)