We have detected you are using an outdated browser.

Kindly upgrade your version of Internet Explorer or use another browser like Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Strathmore Leos thrash Mwamba RFC

Strathmore Leos blanked Mwamba RFC 29-0 in a match that was played at the Cage. Leos managed to bag 2 bonus points by virtue of scoring 4 tries. Leos lay 4th in the league standings with a total of 42 points 1 behind KCB RFC and Kenya Harlequins who are tied at 43.


Leos points came through the boot of Ken Andola in the 12th minute to take Leos up 3-0. Hooker Rhone Mudamba then crossed the line to score a try in the 28th minute; Andola converted the try to make it 10-0. Half time scores stood at 10-0.


Second half saw Leos score 3 tries through lock Charles Omondi, centre Patrick Ruhiu and winger Ginton Adongo. Andola put over one conversion and replacement scrum half Nicholas Kirimi put over one conversion. Full time scores stood at 29-0.


Catullus left it late to beat Mwamba RFC II 7-3 in the dying moments of the second half. Mwamba went 0-3 nil up through a penalty that they converted in the 7th minute of the first half. Catullus did not play well on the day but grinded a victory with 5 minutes to spare in the second half. Rookie Full back Levi Amunga placed an intelligent kick for fellow rookie Winger Edgar to chase and touch down at the corner. Fly half Peter Muiruri kicked over the conversion. Catullus is 3rd on the log with 49 points.


Both teams have 2 more games to go and host Mombasa RFC 0n 16.2.2014 at the Cage and will travel to Nakuru for the last preliminary round match at Nakuru Athletic Club. Strathmore teams have already qualified mathematically for the KRU League playoffs.



McLanhan Sikukuu, Rhone Mudamba, Anthony Orege, Victor Odera, Charles Omondi, Elton Isiaho, Adrian Opondo, Brian Nyikuli, Geoffrey Githaiga (Captain), Ken Andola, Ginton Adongo, Patrick Ruhiu, Cyprian Kuto, Churchill Ooko and Tony Onyango.


Ted Dondi, Nelson Nyandat, Andrew Luyundi, Wycliffe Kibet, Joe Malit, Nicholas Kirimi, Marvin Sumba and Humphrey Owuor.

Patrick Ouko, Jeffrey Olwande (Captain), Daniel Mugwe, Willy Amollo, Carl Williams Odhiambo, Lee Wanjuki, Charles Owende, Nelson Mandela, Peter Muiruri, Peter Ocholla, John Oduk, Alex Olaba, Brian Alukwe, Maurice Otieno and Levi Amunga.

Brian Munene, Leo Aura, Faustin Chacha, Brian Mwangi, Eugene Nzioka, Edgar and Brian Mwangovya.